Focus on Microsoft Technologies - Tutorials, Articles, Code Samples.

Monday, November 27, 2006

Architecture of the .NET Framework 3.0

.NET Framework 3.0, formerly called WinFX, includes a new set of managed code APIs that are an integral part of the upcoming Windows Vista and Windows Server "Longhorn" operating systems. It is also available for Windows XP SP2 and Windows Server 2003 as a download. There are no major architectural changes included with this release; .NET Framework 3.0 includes version 2.0 of the Common Language Runtime.

.NET Framework 3.0 consists of four major new components:

Architecture of the .NET Framework 3.0

  • Windows Workflow Foundation (WF) allows for building of task automation and integrated transactions using workflows.
  • Windows CardSpace (WCS), formerly code-named InfoCard; a software component which securely stores a person's digital identities and provides a unified interface for choosing the identity for a particular transaction, such as logging in to a website.


Post a Comment